Ilocos Region | Region I

About the Ilocos Region

Old towns are always charming. Walk along cobblestone streets or visit the old churches and bell towers from the Spanish era and travel back in time.

Ilocos Region or Region 1 is a region in North Luzon composed of four provinces: Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, La Union and Pangasinan. The region’s centre is San Fernando, La Union.

Fun Fact: Although people hailing from this region are called Ilocanos taken from the word Ilocos, not all inhabitants speak the language Ilocano as almost 30% of the inhabitants are in Pangasinan, who belong to a different ethno-linguistic.